Balsamic Pot Roast with Baby Gold Mashed Potatoes

IMG_2434

Sundays.  Part of me loves Sundays (the couch) and another part of me dreads them.  Sunday is the day I devote to work: planning, grading, etc… Today I’m ahead of the game (besides the pile of grading that is continually staring at me).  I started off the day campaigning for my favorite school board candidate, Elisa Hoffeman and came back home where I set up the crockpot. I’ve  got the roast cooking as I type and I can tell you the apartment smells wonderful.  I am looking forward to a comforting meal tonight, along with leftover beef to make burrito bowls during the week!

Balsamic Pot Roast with Baby Gold Mashed Potatoes

IMG_2423

Adapted from The Chic Table 

Serves 6-8; Prep time 10 minutes; Cook time 6-8 hours

Ingredients

  • 4-5 lbs of beef chuck roast
  • 2 cups beef broth
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 3 cloves garlic, pressed
  • zest of 1/2 orange
  • bag of baby gold potatoes

Place roast and potatoes in crockpot.  Whisk together all remaining ingredients in a medium bowl.

IMG_2424Pour marinade over roast and potatoes in crockpot.

IMG_2425 Cook on low for 6-8 hours until roast is cooked all the way through and is fork tender.   After cooked removed potatoes and smash with a potato masher or electric hand mixer (depending on how you prefer your mashed potatoes) adding butter, cream and salt to taste.  Serve roast over mashed potatoes and enjoy!

IMG_2437

Leave a Reply

